Welcome!

Hello and welcome to my Web site. My name is Jordan Satler and I am an evolutionary biologist. I am a Postdoctoral Researcher co-advised by Dr. Tracy Heath and Dr. John Nason in the Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology department at Iowa State University. I am from San Diego, California, where I earned a Bachelor’s degree at San Diego State University. In the senior year of my undergraduate studies, I took a course in Terrestrial Arthropod Biology taught by Dr. Marshal Hedin that had a profound effect on my path in life. Following a year off after graduation, I entered the Master’s program at San Diego State University in Evolutionary Biology, being fortunate enough to have Marshal as my advisor. During this time I worked on the systematics and evolution of the trapdoor spider genus Aliatypus, focusing on phylogenetic relationships, biogeographic patterns, and species limits in the group. After earning a Master’s degree in 2011, I pursued my PhD with Dr. Bryan Carstens at Louisiana State University, and then joined Bryan on a move to The Ohio State University a year later. For my dissertation work, I investigated the community phylogeography of the eukaryotes in the Sarracenia alata pitcher plant system, with a focus on the arthropods. I spent 5 excellent years in the Carstens lab, and grew a lot as a scientist during this time under Bryan’s tutelage. For my postdoc research, I have transitioned to working on figs and fig wasps, an exciting system for investigating co-evolutionary dynamics. More to come soon…

If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to contact me (jsatler@iastate.edu)!

